A Big Organ or a Fun Book to Read?


a fun book to read or a big Organ

I was so proud of my big organ. Now I’ll settle for a fun book to read.

In 4th Grade I was rejected for the Glee Club. In 5th I tried the clarinet. In 6th, the sax. In 7th I got a cassette player and got pretty good at recording music from the radio, though. And in 8th I did an admirable job of listening to that music. In 9th Grade they humored me and let me into the high school choir as a bass, where I stood behind the sopranos and sang falsetto instead to hide the fact that I couldn’t make it as a bass singer. In 10th I tried the guitar, where I only learned two chords (the two necessary to play America’s “A Horse With No Name”).  I skipped 11th grade because I couldn’t think of an instrument to fail at. But in 12th Grade I bought a small church organ, with two tiers of keys and other cool knobs and buttons. I learned one song: the Skaters’ Waltz. My greatest success was impressing my friends with the biggest instrument of any of them. Size does matter. Having a big organ counts, at least when you’re in high school. I’ve given up on music now. I’ll just settle for writing a fun book to read…

About Martin Bannon Beaudet

Actor, Screenwriter, Novelist, Director, Producer Author of the political thriller By A Thread: A tale of truth, trust, and betrayal Author of the psychological thriller Losing Addison @AuthorMartyB on Twitter …/author.marty.beaudet on Facebook Author of the book "Senseless: Confidential" @Martin_Bannon on Twitter …/author.martin.bannon on Facebook

Posted on May 21, 2012, in a fun book to read, Cascades, Census, Government, humor, Novel, Oregon, Satire, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Aaaah, now this looks familiar! 😉 Well how about writing a book about your experiences with your organ? Like DIck Francis did when he put horses in all of his books?

    • Well, Daniel, my organ, like Garbo, believes less is more when it comes to public appearances. Got to preserve the mystique. (Besides, it’s so big it would require too many volumes to chronicle. The legend, that is. :))

Leave a comment